Question of the Week: Share your story

What moment made you decide you wanted to learn how to code?

Please be specific and give context :slight_smile:

9 Likes

For me it isn’t really just one instance. For context, I’m a preschool teacher by trade, and I started to become disillusioned with the whole school thing way back in 2016 for multitudes of reasons. My sister-in-law (a lead engineer now) always told me how much I’d enjoy coding and programming. I was always too afraid to try because I’m terrified of change but also I thought I wasn’t smart enough. Then I got to visit her at her company in SF, and fell in love. Not just with the idea of coding but also the company community itself. But I was still too afraid to start, and too broke to figure out how to go about it even with help (preschool does not make money).
Anyway I moved out of L.A. in 2017 and could not for the life of me keep a job in my new town-first I got hurt, then the pandemic hit and I was just plum out of luck. I realized I had to change my life. But I was still too afraid. And then my wife had a series of very bad luck and I realized I had to do something or I would be doomed if something worse happened to her. So I recently decided I had to stop dilly-dallying and found Codecademy and I’m enjoying myself so much more than I would have thought.

7 Likes

Come to think of it…I think a dancing robot video made me want to learn… :rofl:

7 Likes

So I had been interesting in technology and the inner workings of software for a while. I don’t remember exactly how, but I learned about Codecademy in 2014 and signed up in July. Here I had my first coding experience when I took up Javascript in CSS on CodeCademy because they seemed interesting. I loved the course but I didn’t have any useful application for it, so I turned to other things and didn’t look back.