Python vs. Swift string interpolation - 99 Bottles of Milk

I’m pretty new to Swift, but I’m very familiar with Python, so when I got to this project I wanted to take it up a notch with the optional tasks at the end — specifically, “Assign the lyrics of the song to some String variables.”

I’d be interested in any feedback by more experienced Swift developers if there is a better to go about it than what I came up with. Below was my thought process.

Problem

What piqued my interest here was that you actually cannot just assign the lyrics to a variable at the beginning of your code and have them update in your loop with string interpolation.

For example, this will end up printing 99 for each iteration of the loop, even though the numBottles variable is updated:

var numBottles: Int = 99
var firstLine: String =  "\(numBottles) bottles of milk on the wall"

while numBottles > 0 {
    print(firstLine)
    numBottles -= 1
}

The reason why is because if your lyric variables are assigned before your loop, that is when the string interpolation takes place. Your string variable won’t automatically update even though the value of numBottles is changing.

Solution 1

Of course, you can work around it by including your lyrics inside your loop like this:

**Click here for code**
var numBottles: Int = 99

while numBottles > 0 {
    let firstLine: String = "\(numBottles) bottles of milk on the wall, \(numBottles) bottles of milk! \nYou take one down and pass it around..."

let secondLine: String = "\(numBottles - 1) bottles of milk on the wall!\n"

print(firstLine)
    print(secondLine)
    numBottles -= 1
} 

followed by print() statements for the end lines.

Mapping out a better solution

But…that’s a little too simplistic. What if I want to reuse the loop (“sing the song”) multiple times? I’m going to want a few things out of my code:

• My code should be more concise — I shouldn’t rewrite the lyrics multiple times.