Python Final Project: Universal Tweet Generator! I would love feedback!

Hi! So this is my first shot at anything like this. I’ve never coded much before completing the Python course here, just some basic MATLAB and a couple incomplete Codecademy courses. It’s definitely not perfect but it’s in a relatively complete state right now, so I’d like to share. My project scrapes the most recent 3200 tweets from any Twitter user’s profile (as long as it is public), or it can also scrape the 3200 most recent tweets about any search term or hashtag you enter. It then uses these tweets and Codecademy’s Markov Chain generator function to generate a new tweet 20 words long! Have a look here:

A couple caveats: Since this uses the Tweepy library to access Twitter’s APIs, you have to have Tweepy installed in order to run it. Even bigger though is that you also need API keys from Twitter. I can’t supply my own keys because that would give you access to muck around with my personal Twitter account. If you don’t have keys you’ll have to apply for a Twitter dev account to get some before you can actually run this script. If you already have keys just copy and paste them into the appropriate spot in fetch_data.py. I’m not really sure of a better way to do it without having to rethink how the script would work. Also, Twitter’s APIs are pretty heavily rate limited, meaning running this too much within a 15 minute period will spit out error code 429. There is nothing I can do about this, you just have to wait 15 minutes to run it again.