Python excercise 11

I am new in the programming world and all, and right now I am stuck in almost every single little excercise in python. It is very frustrating, because I just don’t know how to do it, or how to solve problems. The thing is can sombody please explain some tips and tricks so I can understand programming a little bit?

You don’t have to explain the very basics from python until lesson 5, everything before 5 is what I do know I guess. you can start explaining from excercise 11 from Practice Makes Perfect.
also English is not my native language so I don’t understand every term.

so what I do know in this excersise is how to define the function, but then I don’t know anymore…
Define a function called count that has two arguments called sequence and item.

Return the number of times the item occurs in the list.

For example: count([1, 2, 1, 1], 1) should return 3 (because 1 appears 3 times in the list).

There is a list method in Python that you can use for this, but you should do it the long way for practice.
Your function should return an integer.
The item you input may be an integer, string, float, or even another list!
Be careful not to use list as a variable name in your code—it’s a reserved word in Python!

def count(sequence, item):

please explain!

For this problem I would say to try and break the problem down into parts before you try and tackle it. Your end goal is to return the number of times the item argument appears in the sequence argument.

First thing you need to figure out is how to check if what is passed in your item argument is present in your sequence argument.

Hopefully this helps a bit.