Python Classes Instance Variable as Method Keyword Argument

I am working on the Python Classes: Medical Insurance Project.

In the extra steps you can do for practice, it says to try writing more methods to update the various parameters (bmi, smoker, etc.). I tried writing one method that would take keyword arguments and use control flow to update any of the parameters. The problem is it seems you can’t use an instance variable as a default value such as new_age = self.age - I get NameError: name 'self' is not defined. See def update() in my code below.
I guess my questions are:

1. Why does it give this error? Have I not defined self? I am just learning and the logic behind classes is not crystal clear in my head.
  2. Can you somehow reference the current age (self.age) as a default for a keyword argument?
  3. Is there a better way to go about this, while retaining one method (.update()) to update all parameters, without needing to update all of them at once?
class Patient:
  def __init__(self, name, age, sex, bmi, children, smoker):
    self.name = name
    self.age = age
    self.sex = sex
    self.bmi = bmi
    self.children = children
    self.smoker = smoker

def pt_profile(self):
    pt_info = {'name': self.name, 'age': self.age, 'sex': self.sex, 'bmi': self.bmi, 'children': self.children, 'smoker': self.smoker}
    return pt_info

def est_insurance(self):
    est_cost = 250 * self.age - 128 * self.sex + 370 * self.bmi + 425 * self.children + 24000 * self.smoker - 12500
    print(self.name + "'s estimated insurance cost is $" + str(est_cost) + '.')

def update(self, new_name = self.name, new_age = self.age, new_sex = self.sex, new_bmi = self.bmi, new_children = self.bmi, new_smoker = self.smoker):
    if new_name != self.name:
      print(self.name + ' has now changed their name to ' + new_name + '.')
      self.name = new_name
    elif new_age != self.age:
      self.age = new_age
      print(self.name + ' is now ' + str(self.age) + ' years old.')