Python 3 Coursework 7. Keyword Arguments

Hello again from me,
i am new to this programming stuff and stuck on this exercise for a few days now.
I tried everything and it just wouldn`t work as expected.

# Define create_spreadsheet():

def create_spreadsheet (title):
  print("Creating a spreadsheet called ")
  row_count = 1000

# Call create_spreadsheet() below with the required arguments:

create_spreadsheet("Downloads" + row_count)

The Code will fail to execute, with the following error statement:

Traceback (most recent call last):
File “script.py”, line 6, in
create_spreadsheet(“Downloads” + row_count)
NameError: name ‘row_count’ is not defined

That is strange, because i thought i would have defined the name ‘row_count’ as 1000.
I also tried it with the row_count parameter placed in different locations inside of the Code, but to no avail.

Help is greatly appreciated, thank`s!

If you could edit your post and format your code in preformatted text, that would be great. For now, the error seems to be coming from row_count

def create_spreadsheet (title):
  print("Creating a spreadsheet called ")
  row_count = 1000 # <= this line

it’s only been defined inside the function and cannot be called outside of that. And even if it wasn’t defined inside, it wouldn’t work as an argument, it’d throw an error. I cannot access the lesson, so I suggest you review your instructions. Also, a integer cant be added (+) to a string.

1 Like

true, but this variable has a local scope, it only exists within the function.

1 Like

Please post a link to the problem.

row_count is meant to be a parameter, not an inline variable.

def foo(title, row_count = 1000):

Here is the Link, it`s instruction 2

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/lessons/intro-to-functions/exercises/keyword-arguments