Py3.Ch.11. Function arguments -- Project: The Nile

Hi everyone, I’m new to Python. This problem is from codecademy – python 3 – Ch.11 Function Arguments – Project: Neil

I have several questions:

1. I used * to unpack tuples, but it’s wrong. When can we omit * in the function parameters?

2. Line 9: I un-indent “distance = get_distance(from_lat, from_long, to_lat, to_long)” and it gave me this following error:

The correct is following (put the distance inside the function), why this works?

Here is my code (it will give you error message):
from nile import get_distance, format_price, SHIPPING_PRICES
from test import test_function

Define calculate_shipping_cost() here:

def calculate_shipping_cost(*from_coords, *to_coords, shipping_type):
(from_lat, from_long) = from_coords
(to_lat, to_long) = to_coords
distance = get_distance(from_lat, from_long, to_lat, to_long)

There’s quite a lot going on here so it’s hard to pin down which bit is causing trouble.

There is syntax for using *args in the definition of a function, the so-called arbitrary arguments but you can only use it once and it must come after any positional arguments. It works in the following way-

def func(*args):
    # arguments passed to args are wrapped in a tuple
    print(type(args))
    print(args)

func(1, 'ten', 3, int)  # we pass multiple arguments
Out: <class 'tuple'>  # args is a tuple
# elements are the arguments passed (in order)
(1, 'ten', 3, <class 'int'>)

See the following for more info- function arbitrary arguments, def(*args)

From what I understand your arguments are already being passed as two tuples, something like from_coords == (54.5, -12.3). As you saw in your final image one of the ways of unpacking a sequence like this when you know the length assigning it to the same number of identifiers-

lat, lon = from_coords