Publishing your website

Hi, I’m starting the Web Developer course but I can’t find anything on publishing/going live with your website. I’m using VS Code to code the html css javascript etc but then what do I do with it?
I’ve looked at the ‘Publish to GitHub’ link but that didn’t help as it didn’t work for me. There must be a simpler way!?
I’m new to this and need to get something published soon. Please help.

I published to github, but I think you can only do that with one site. Otherwise you have to pay for a hosting solution. There’s bits about that in the course. Google cheap web hosting solutions, and many of them will take you through this.
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=NQP89ish9t8

1 Like

Hi and welcome to the forums!

If you’re just looking for a completely static website to be published (that is, purely HTML, CSS and JS) then Github Pages is definitely the best way to go. It’s really easy, and completely free to host your website there. Following that link will give you the steps but here is a quick summary:

1. Go to your Github account, if you don’t have one yet create an account.
  2. Start a new repository called [username].github.io. So if your Github username was micro06, you would name the repository “micro06.github.io”.
  3. Once that’s done, you can upload your files to the repository by opening the repository and clicking Add file > Upload files.
  4. The only important condition to note is that your homepage must be called “index.html” so that github can detect it’s a website.