Problem with parameters in JavaScript (Beginner)

Hey guys, total beginner at JavaScript here. I'm having a bit of trouble with giving parameters to my function and having it behave the way I want. Specifically, I want the function to run a couple of times, and every time it runs I want it to increase the value of a variable (integer) by a value that is equal to a second variable. Here's my code:

//First scenario//

var firstNumber = 4;
var secondNumber = 8;
console.log("WITH PARAMETERS:")

function add (a, b) {
	a += b;
	console.log(a);

} 

add(firstNumber, secondNumber);

//Second scenario//

console.log("WITHOUT PARAMETERS:");
function add2 () {
	firstNumber += secondNumber;
	console.log(firstNumber);

}

add2();
add2();
add2();
add2();

In the first scenario, the console just returns the value 12, four times. In the second, it goes 12, 20, 28, 36, like it should (or like I want it to, I guess). I kind of see what the problem is already, but don't know how to solve it; every time the function runs, it says "oh okay, so "a" is still 4, right?" instead of taking its incremented value, or 12 after the first time the function runs.

In scenario #2, it does exactly what I want it to do, but without the parameters. Is there something I'm missing? Why isn't this working? Any help would greatly be appreciated, thanks :slight_smile:

Your first scenario does nothing to alter the global variables, so the four calls result in the same response.

function add (a, b) {
    return a + b;
}
var firstNumber = 4;
var secondNumber = 8;

firstNumber = add(firstNumber, secondNumber);

Output

Ah yes, but what I want to do is use only the parameters to get the same result without having to type the variable names at all. Ultimately I want this same function to run with many different variables, so having to actually write down firstNumber = add(firstNumber, secondNumber); isn't going to work.

Is there anyway that I could get that same output purely by using parameters?