Problem Installing Python 3

I followed the prompt to download Python 3, but when I follow the instruction to write ‘python – version’, I am supposed to receive feedback about the version, and instead I get an error message stating:
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “<pyshell#2>”, line 1, in
python – version
NameError: name ‘python’ is not defined

Also, forgive me as I am very new to all of this, but I’m not sure if I’m even using the proper terminal. After downloading Python, on my laptop there is now:
IDLE (Python 3.9 64-bit) (this is what I was using that gave me the error)
Python 3.9 (64-bit)
Command Prompt
Powershell

Which one should I be using or does it matter?

Thank you for your help.

If you started with IDLE and you have a prompt like this >>> then you’re probably already running an interactive Python session. You could do something like-

import sys
print(sys.version)

To test the version whilst Python is running.

Using python --version or python -V is possible from a standard shell, e.g your command line (cmd.exe). Trying to invoke python from a running python session (e.g. with IDLE) would throw up errors like yours.

Thank you for the feedback.

This is the response I got from that input:
3.9.0 (tags/v3.9.0:9cf6752, Oct 5 2020, 15:34:40) [MSC v.1927 64 bit (AMD64)]

Again, because I’m new to this I’m relatively clueless as to what this means. I’m doing the command line course for some background but it hasn’t explained (at least yet) which of these terminals I should be using or how/if they differ. Given this response, am I okay to move forward with downloading miniconda and jupyter notebooks, and should I continue to use IDLE?

The version is right at the front, 3.9.0 so it seems fine to me :+1:.