Priority & order of print statements involving function & not printing with return (follow up to a old forum post)

It's my first time posting to Codecademy, so pardon me for any faux pas being new to coding & this community.

Came across old forum response on Codecademy differentiating print and return using the following script:

def function_that_prints():
print "I printed"

def function_that_returns():
return "I returned"

f1 = function_that_prints()
f2 = function_that_returns()
print "Now let us see what the values of f1 and f2 are"
print f1
print f2

Now I am wondering why "I printed" printed before anything else, since function wouldn't execute by merely equating it with f1?

https://www.codecademy.com/forum_questions/518ffbfeb3f05c44fe001395

No outright error, but
1. The order of print within a function seems to get called without actually calling.
2. A print statement didn't actually print when placed after a return inside a function (please see test_returnB in my messy amateur script)

1. The function shouldn't execute by merely associating it with f1?
2. actually print test_returnA AND test_returnB, rather than missing that test_returnB following a return

#Added test prints

print ("test_1")

def function_that_returns():
    print ("test_returnA")
    return "I returned"
    print ("test_returnB")

print("test_2")

def function_that_prints():
    print ("test_printA")
    print ("I printed")
    print ("test_printB")

print("test_3")

print("test_4")
f2 = function_that_returns()
print("test_5")

print ("Let's see what the values of f1 and f2 are")

print("test_6")
print (f1)
print("test_7")
print (f2)
print("test_8")

this line: