Print syntax query

I am really new to this, so if this is a silly question, then I apologise now.

In CodeAcademy Python, the syntax for printing is:

print "Welcome to Python!"

Yet, when I look at things like Visual Studio or PyCharm, the syntax seems to be:

print ("Welcome to Python!")

So now I am confused.

As I type this, one of the popup suggested topics suggests that this might be a difference between Python 2 and Python 3...would this be right?

In the early stages of learning, I kinda need things to "just work", but at the moment I am distracted by the worry that what I am learning here at Code Academy is already out of date.

I'd be grateful if someone could talk me through this wobble of mine. :smile:

python3:

print ("Welcome to Python!")

pyton2:

print "Welcome to Python!"

codecademy uses python 2.7 i believe to have read somewhere. It could be VS or PyCharm uses 3 already, maybe you could set it to python 2.7 if you want it to match CC (codecademy)

Thank you for that.

I will look at whether I can use Python 2.7 and if so how.

I am wondering, though, if it would be better for me to learn Python 3 from the off, whether it would be less confusing for me, particularly if there are substantial differences.

All the same, thank you for replying.

I will have to correct my answer, codecademy runs python 2.7.3, so close with my 2.7.

I think python3, python wiki has an extensive guide on it, you can find it here, i hope this helps. I think print is one the biggest, i find quora always really useful for this sort of thing, here is a question about the difference, with good answers and more links. or this one.

Thanks for the links...unfortunately they were way over my head. I probably shouldn't have asked the question if I can't understand the answer. :confused:

I have now found I can use 2.7.11 with PyCharm, so I might be better off working through the tutorials here before worrying about 3. Learn to walk before I try running!

Thanks again :smile: