Prime directive

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-java/projects/java-prime-directive
Hi,
Having trouble with the exercise above.
My code so far looks like this, and I have been able to proceed up to step 8, which asks me to test run the program. However, there would always show an error in compiling that says I am missing a return statement

import java.util.ArrayList;
class PrimeDirective {

// Add your methods here:
  public boolean isPrime(int number) {
    if (number == 2) {
      return true;
    } else if (number < 2) {
      return false;
    } else {
      for (int i = 2; i < number; i++) {
        if (number % i != 0) {
          return true;
        } else {
          return false;
        }
      }
    }
  }

Any help will be appreciated :slight_smile:

I am not an expert on Java, but…

I can only assume that Java is looking at your code, seeing that all your return statements are inside of an if/else structure and is throwing that error out of concern that your isPrime() method ought to be returning a boolean but doesn’t necessarily have a reachable return statement.

In short, you need a return outside of the if/else structure (I think)…

Thanks for your help! on to next steps :slight_smile:

1 Like

Hi,
https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-java/projects/java-prime-directive
Was wondering if anyone has gone through the same problem as mine or anyone who could help out (i know this is my third time posting on this topic…sorry…)
The program is running no problem, but I am wondering why the method isPrime is returning ‘true’ for every number when it should be only returning ‘true’ for prime numbers.
Any help will be greatly appreciated :slight_smile:

import java.util.ArrayList;
class PrimeDirective {
  boolean Primez;
  public boolean isPrime(int number) {
    if (number == 2) {
      Primez = true;
    } else if (number < 2) {
        Primez = false;
    } else {
        for (int i = 2; i < number; i++) {
          if (number % i != 0) {