Practice makes perfect

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/python-beginner-c7VZg/1/5?curriculum_id=4f89dab3d788890003000096#

def cube(number):
    return (number)** 3
def by_three(number):
    if (number) == 3:
        return True
    else:
        return False

I am new to coding and am not sure exactly what is going on. This is what I am getting"
Oops, try again. by_three(3) returned True instead of 27." I know where I want to end up for a code but am not sure how to do it. Any help would be appreciated!

You wrote if number == 3: return True. The instructions say that only do this if a number is divisible by 3. Use modulo (%) instead of a comparator ==

So here, according to step 4 in the instructions you are to find out "if that number is divisible by 3, " so try implementing that instead of just equaling number to 3.

as this return True is not necessary. It does not accomplish anything you are wanting to do in this lesson?

I fixed it to % but it is still not working.
def cube(number):
return (number)** 3
def by_three(number):
if (number) % 3:
return True
else:
return False

im with you its still not working for me

Ok so for you your indentions are off. Try realigning them properly. Your return statements I believe should be one tab over under your else and if statements. And what I told mikmazey also applies to you my bad I missed that.

And @boardwhiz77040 just for future reference, I don't necessarily mind because you don't spam or interrupt the conversation but for others, if you have a question, post your own topic instead of replying to one that is already ongoing. It will save you trouble in the future on the forums :thumbsup:

Not sure what was unclear about that... but here it is again

I got rid of the true, I guess I put it in there because the instructions say that we need to include False. What should I return it to then, instead of True?