Potential career change

Hi all. I hope you’re all keeping well during these difficult times.

So a little about me. I’m 30 years old with a degree in archaeology. I taught English as a foreign language for several years after university before entering the travel industry, where I’ve been working for 4 years now. I generally like it, but my industry in particular has been decimated by the impact of coronavirus. So much so that I’m taking this time (I’m on paid leave until further notice) to think about what courses I can take outside of travel should I be forced to/decide to make a career change.

Coding is something that has always interested me. I’ll be honest, I didn’t really know what it was for a long time (but I guess everyone is in the same boat until they really throw themselves into the deep end). It intrigues me because of the aim of problem solving through formulae and commands and increasing companies’ efficiency. I can draw similarities to coding through the flights reservation system at my old job. Anything you wanted to do (reserve flights, check fare prices, search availability, view flight ticketing rules etc.) had to be done by a concrete set of commands. The only way to use the system was to learn, practice with and ultimately memorise these commands. The more familiar you became, the more you could combine these instructions into one command thus delve deeper into the software and do what you needed to do faster and faster. FYI this software is called Galileo.

Anyway, another reason I am interested to find out more about coding is that I have got the impression the tech industry is booming right now, and for those with the right skillset and experience, they will always have a good chance of landing a job. I’m aware the money isn’t bad also, but any pay bracket ‘isn’t bad’ when compared to the travel industry.