Plan Your Trip!

https://www.codecademy.com/en/courses/python-beginner-P5YtY/1/6?curriculum_id=4f89dab3d788890003000096#

Hey guys,

Sorry if this is a very simple answer I am still very new to Python and coding in general. I'm not having any issues with completing the tasks but I am having issues fully understanding what I am doing. In my code for the exercise you complete it by entering print trip_cost("Los Angeles", 5, 600). I understand how Python can reference back "Los Angeles" but I dont understand how it assumes 5 for days and adds 600 into the extra cost of the trip. My only thought is that trip_cost must be a set function? Sorry again if this is very simple concept and if this is the wrong place to submit this. Any feedback is appreciated.

Here is my code for reference:

def hotel_cost(nights):
    return 140* nights
def plane_ride_cost(city):
    if city == "Charlotte":
        return 183
    elif city == "Tampa":
        return 220
    elif city == "Pittsburgh":
        return 222
    elif city == "Los Angeles":
        return 475
def rental_car_cost(days):
    cost = days * 40
    if days >= 7:
        cost = cost - 50
    elif days >= 3 and days < 7:
        cost = cost - 20
    return cost
def trip_cost(city, days, spending_money):
    return rental_car_cost(days) + hotel_cost(days) + plane_ride_cost(city) + spending_money
print trip_cost("Los Angeles", 5, 600)

your function:

def trip_cost(city, days, spending_money):

you have 3 parameters, for each parameter you need to supply an argument:

print trip_cost("Los Angeles", 5, 600)

the arguments are copied into the parameter:

city = "Los Angeles"
days = 5
spending_money = 600

what is the struggle?