Pig Latin in project: JavaScript modules message mixer

Hey everyone, I was playing around with the pig latin code for the https://www.codecademy.com/courses/introduction-to-javascript/projects/message-mixer project. My code currently is:

function betterPigLatin(string) {
var num = 1;
let arr = string.split(’ ‘)
for (let i = 0; i < arr.length; i++) {
let word = arr[i];
arr[i] = word.substring(num) + word.substring(0, num) + ‘ay’;
}
return arr.join(’ ');
};

This seems to work very well other than with punctuation within the string. I am confused about how to write the code to segment out the punctuation while maintaining the sentence structure. Any tips from the pros on a better way?

Thanks in advance,
Trav

Welcome to the forums!

I’m no pro but here’s what I would do:

Create an array with punctuation characters. Check if a word ends in punctuation using the array - if it has punctuation log it and drop it from the word, then when you’re done scrambling the word you can add the punctuation back to the end.

My solution
	for (let i = 0; i < arr.length; i++) {
		let word = arr[i];
		let punctuationValue; // Store punctuation here if we find one.
		let punctuationArray = ['.', ',', '?','!']; // Array of punctuation to check for
		for(char of punctuationArray) { // check each element in the array
			if(word.endsWith(char)) { // if it ends in punctuation
				word = word.slice(0, word.length - 1); // cut it out
				punctuationValue = char; // save the punctuation mark
			}
		}
		arr[i] = word.substring(num) + word.substring(0, num) + 'ay';
		if (punctuationValue) { 
			arr[i] += punctuationValue;  // add punctuation back to the end of the word
		}
	}

console.log(betterPigLatin('This is a test, or is it? I think it is. Hope it works!'));
// hisTay siay aay esttay, roay siay tiay? Iay hinktay tiay siay. opeHay tiay orksway!