PermissionError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: (on a macOS Catalina)

(base) w3ro@Roberts-Air Documents % /Users/w3ro/opt/anaconda3/bin/python /Users/w3ro/Documents/projekt.py
Traceback (most recent call last):
File “/Users/w3ro/Documents/projekt.py”, line 2, in
email_one = open("/Users/w3ro/Downloads/censor_dispenser/email_one.txt", “r”).read()
PermissionError: [Errno 1] Operation not permitted: ‘/Users/w3ro/Downloads/censor_dispenser/email_one.txt’
(base) w3ro@Roberts-Air Documents %

This is my error I get. I searched some Stuff and I still dont get it…

Some are saying with the command: “sudo” it will work. But with sudo it is in the terminal and how I should write it there I dont know but this is not what I want.

Im writing the code in Visual Studio Code… I also took the Visual Studio Code into the Seduritylist. That Visual Studio Code read/write and so on… but this it is still not working…

On my Windows PC everything is working… but Im new to the Macbook and Linux Stuff. And I cant find any solution… everything I find is… like " write in the Terminal sudo "
Everything I tried now is not working…

I want that when I execute my code that the code doing everything.

How familiar are you with Linux and macOS permission system? In your downloads, check the permission of your censor dispenser (you can use ls -l in the command line)

i highly recommend reading about permissions on the internet. Something like this:

https://www.guru99.com/file-permissions.html

1 Like

Hello, let’s try with ownership of the given file: navigate to the file’s folder in terminal, then type:

groups

this will show a list of groups the current account belongs to.

you will have normally a group with the same name as your user. If so, then try to take the ownership of the file you want to read with python. In the terminal, type:

sudo chown username:group email_one.txt