Permission denied to make changes to .bash_profile

I’m working through the Command Line course and decided to try out this activity, editing .bash_profile on my own machine.

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-the-command-line/lessons/learn-command-line-environment/exercises/configuring-environment-bash-profile

However, when I try to edit .bash_profile with nano in Terminal, I get Permission Denied and can’t save changes. I am running Mac OS 11.1 Big Sur and I know it has Z shell / .zsh . I have Anaconda installed to run Python.

Error appears at the point of using ^O to write out. "Error writing /Users/my_name/.bash_profile: Permission denied "
Should I be able to do this? I’m very new to Command Line so please be gentle!

1 Like

Yeah, you should probably have read/write permission for your own home folder. You can double check the permissions/ownership either with ls -l or you can find the folder in finder right-click and select get-info (permission are near the bottom of the info window).

It’s worth noting that z-shell won’t necessarily be set up to source .bash_profile. See below for the files you want to sort out-

Edit: For zsh, here’s a helpful discussion of where to put what on OSX-

2 Likes

Thank you. Permissions for .bash_profile and another one with a similar name look like this:

-rw-r--r--    1 root       staff    447  8 Jun  2020 .bash_profile
-rw-------    1 kateohara  staff  12288 19 Jan 12:59 .bash_profile.swp

I have a .zprofile . Its permissions look like this, and it lets me edit and source. I’ve managed to apply that change.

-rw-r--r-- 1 kateohara staff 164 3 Jun 2020 .zprofile

I do notice that .bash_profile has some Conda-related stuff in it. .zprofile contains some $PATH stuff for Python 3.

Should I mention this in feedback, I wonder? There is mention of Z shell at the beginning of the course and it says you mostly won’t need to change.

What are the implications of this? Do I need to know anything? Just use .zprofile in future?