Output the winner of Rock, Paper, Scissors

First, it should be noted that I am a complete noob at programming. JS happens to be the first programming language I decided to learn, and I like trying to get the most possible out of every exercise.

I successfully wrote the code to complete the lesson

var userChoice = prompt("Do you choose rock, paper, or scissors?");
var computerChoice = Math.random(); 
console.log(computerChoice);
if (computerChoice < .33) {
    computerChooice = "rock";
} else if (computerChoice > .67) {
    computerChoice = "scissors";
} else {
    computerChoice = "paper";
}
console.log(computerChoice);

but I would like for the computer to tell me whether I won or lost. I was hoping something like this (obviously expanded to include all of the possibilities) would work:

if (userChoice = "scissors", computerChoice = "paper") {
    console.log("You win!");
}
else {
    console.log("You lose.");
}

but I don't think that's the correct way to give two inputs to if(); and I'm not even sure something like that would work at all.

How can I make this code work properly?
I appreciate any input, but please keep in mind that I am still a beginner and would love detailed explanations along with any answer.

No you're on the right track! The lesson only wants you to make it work, it doesn't care if you spruce it up to make it look more presentable for the player! Just as long as you make sure which choice is the player and which one is the computer.

The only problem you're running into is with the if statement here:

if (userChoice = "scissors", computerChoice = "paper") { /* Also change the equals signs
so they aren't assignment operators as they are now! */

You'll want to change that to have a "nested if statement" like this:

if (userChoice === "scissors") {
  if (computerChoice === "paper") {
    //Code here!
  }
}