Onmouseover not working in js file but working in html

Hi, I have a small problem, in the Portfolio project, I try to make this circle div bigger when the mouse is on it. This only works when I write a ‘mouseover’ in the HTML file like this:

<div class="circle-name" onmouseover = 'biggerCircle()' onmouseout = 'smallerCircle()'> <!-- like this is working --> <div class="name-and-text"> <h3>Evgeni Milev</h3> <div class="text-and-picture"> </div> <h4>Hi, I'm Evgeni and I am a student at codecademy. By profession I am a full-time CNC machine operator situated in Germany. In april 2021 I started the codecademy course - Full-Stack Engineer which I am currently completing on .... <br> <br> This page is still part of my training. I am open to further development in coding and web-development. </h4> </div> </div>

the js file look like this:

let targetCircle = document.querySelector('.circle-name'); function biggerCircle () { targetCircle.style.width = '40rem' targetCircle.style.height = '40rem' }; function smallerCircle () { targetCircle.style.width = '35rem' targetCircle.style.height = '35rem' };

The problem is that I want the ‘onmouseover’ and ‘onmouseout’ to be in all only in the JS file not in HTML also.

My question is why when I make it like this is not working:

let targetCircle = document.querySelector('.circle-name'); function biggerCircle () { targetCircle.style.width = '40rem' targetCircle.style.height = '40rem' }; function smallerCircle () { targetCircle.style.width = '35rem' targetCircle.style.height = '35rem' }; targetCircle.onmouseover = 'biggerCircle()' targetCircle.onmouseout = 'smallerCircle()'

I will be grateful for any explanation. The goal is to make the code more accessible and readable.

Hey there and welcome to the forums!