Older engineer - looking for software / programming direction

I’m an older engineer, 60’s, who used to program decades ago (VB, basic, etc) for business applications. I enjoyed it and want to get back into it. I want to figure out where to start and do some remote programming at home as a side job until I get some experience. which area is in the most demand? web? business intelligence? is there a demand for remote programmers that are relatively new to this? Any suggestions?

5 Likes

AI and ML are the two big demands of today. The web, probably not so much, though the demand is still high. It’s a different kettle of fish than what you might be used to.

The fact that you are an engineer plays right into the more academic side of things. Data Science, Information Science, Computer Science, etc. Put what skills you have on the table and take inventory. What’s a good fit for you so that you can build upon your knowledge and experience?

What niches could you insert yourself into? From a science perspective, Python is not a hard language to learn and is very well suited to data science and robotics.

4 Likes

thanks - I’ll look into Python. Is it hard to find part time work for Python

3 Likes

The last person who could answer that would be me. I’ve never looked for part-time or any-time work in the field. I’m sure if I was forty years younger I’d make a great intern, though. (blush, giggle)

It would seem that you have some leverage as an engineer, and once you got over the rudiments of the language would be right at home in the Data Science path. In no time you will be envisioning ways to leverage the two as a marketable commodity.

3 Likes