Older coding student - 51 years old

Good day everyone. I’m looking for advice / opinions on what I could expect when I finish my Full Stack Engineer course and ready to explore the job market.

A brief life story: I started coding with Basic on an Atari 800 computer when I was 10 years old. Throughout my teens I enjoyed coding for fun but never considered it as a career so I ended up working in the trades. When the internet was born I began building web sites and became fairly proficient with HTML and javascript and also built some apps with Visual Basic. At this stage I briefly considered making it my career but young kids and an opportunity in a family business changed my mind. Then when smart phones came along I started learning Java so I could build Android apps that helped me manage my goat farm (another side project).

This brings us to the present where I recently sold the goat herd and with my kids grown and out of the house I have more spare time to pursue other interests. The responsibilities of the family business will gradually transition to the next generation. Therefore I have decided to finally pursue coding as a career. I’m 25% into the Full Stack Engineer program and enjoying it. I have a full-stack project planned that would be useful for the family business and will be added to my portfolio. After that I would like to start looking for part-time work since I will still have responsibilities with the family business for the next 3-5 years. At some point I would hopefully be able to work full-time coding.

I have many questions regarding my career plan but the two biggest are:
“Are there part-time coding jobs?” and the biggest question is “Will I have difficulty finding work at my age?”

I’m looking forward to hearing from the Codecademy community.

Thanks!
Blain

2 Likes