Off-Platform Project: Goblins Planner

I am stuck on Step 3 of the Off-Platform project: Goblins Planner …

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/learn-python-3/informationals/python3-abruptly-goblins

I am studying the solution code for Step 3 and it makes no sense to me. I also copied and pasted the solution code for Step 3 into my code box and received a NameError warning. These are all the codes that I have so far …

gamers =

def add_gamer(gamer, gamers_list):
>if gamer.get(“name”) and gamer.get(“availability”):
>>gamers_list.append(gamer)
>else:
>>print(“Missing information”)

kimberly = {
“name”:“Kimberly Warner”,
“availability”:[“Mondays”, “Tuesdays”, “Fridays”]
}
add_gamer(kimberly, gamers)

print(gamers)"=

I don’t understand why I was instructed to call the function add_gamer with gamers as the second argument. Why gamers? gamers is supposed to be the holding list for all the people who will attend the game night. I was instructed to created an empty list called gamers as the very first line of code. Also, it’s this very same second argument of gamers that I receive the following message …

NameError: name ‘gamers’ is not defined

Please help?

That code ran fine when I tried it.
The "= should not be at the end.

gamers = [] def add_gamer(gamer, gamers_list): if gamer.get("name") and gamer.get("availability"): gamers_list.append(gamer) else: print("Missing information") kimberly = { "name": "Kimberly Warner", "availability": ["Mondays", "Tuesdays", "Fridays"] } add_gamer(kimberly, gamers) print(gamers)

Hi janbazant. Thank you for being here! I’m going cross-eyed trying to figure out why I still keep getting that NameError for a not defined “gamers.” Please see screenshot below … Please note that my screenshot cut off my first line of code which is gamers =

I don’t know what’s causing that.

I’d try:
run the cell that has gamers = []
and run the cell that has the add_gamer function,
then run the cell that has kimberly in it.

2 Likes