Off-platform help needed with basic use of Terminal to open database using SQlite

I’m a total beginner to using terminals/command lines. I’m doing the data science stream and got up to the off-platform SQL lesson.

I downloaded SQLite, the sample database and Git Bash as instructed. I then tried to follow the video on ‘go-off platform for working with SQLite’, ‘Setting up SQLite Locally’ :

https://www.codecademy.com/paths/data-science/tracks/analyze-data-sql-go-off-platform/modules/analyze-data-sql-learn-off-platform/articles/what-is-sqlite

I am completely stuck at the point in the video where he uses the terminal to open the example database using SQlite.exe. In the video he is using cmdr and inputs ./sqlite.exe/FILENAME to get the database to open. I can only get as far as the ‘ls’ step using Git Bash. :frowning:

Hello @elviramanjaji4572717, welcome to the forums. Could you post your command line code please.

I just tried to copy what the instructor did exactly (./sqlite.exe/FILENAME into the terminal) and nothing happened. I don’t know if that clarifies? I’m a real beginner. Beyond doing the basic command line lesson I really don’t know much.

What is the name of the file? Did you put that instead of FILENAME?

Yes. The name of the file is acs-1-year-2015.sqlite.
It is the exact same name the instructor used. So I typed
./sqlite.exe/acs-1-year-2015.sqlite (like the instructor) and nothing happened.

@elviramanjaji4572717,

Make sure that the file (acs-1-year-2015.sqlite) and the executable (sqlite3.exe) are both in the same folder, and make sure you’ve opened your terminal to that folder. Then make sure you type the exact command he did: ./sqlite3.exe acs-1-year-2015.sqlite

In the command you posted here, you left out the 3 in sqlite3 and you put a forward slash instead of a space:

Thanks for your patience! Sorry - my OP just had typos. I definitely put in:
./ sqlite3.exe acs-1-year-2015.sqlite