Notes from a Software Developer Job Interview: I Got the Job!

success-story

Hi! I’m Kate, and the Codecademy team thought you all might want to know about my experience getting a job as a Software Developer.

I am self-taught, and while I’ve been coding for the last 15 years, this is my first full-time job since having my children. I am so excited!

Here’s what the job interview process was like:

1. The first test I took was a lengthy online javascript assessment. It covered a lot of javascript, including a lot of DOM manipulation, which I really wasn’t up on since I do that entirely with React these days. But apparently I did well enough to get a phone interview. It was multiple choice so no writing algorithms. My only advice here would be to be really strong in all general areas of OOP and DOM manipulation if applicable.
  2. The next day I had a phone interview with the hiring manager who asked me a lot about my experience, told me what projects they will be working on, asked what I’m interested in, nothing technical but a lot of background stuff. I used every question to say a little about me and my personality and background - basically I tried to never say just yes or no.
  3. The hiring manager really liked me so I came in the next day for an on-site paper test and in-person interview with the hiring manager and one of the devs. One issue with the test was that a quarter of it was in PHP and I haven’t written in PHP in a few years. Gulp. Any time I didn’t know something specific to PHP I answered “In Javascript the answer would be…”. I tried never to just say “I don’t know.”