No programming knowledge and no experience where to start

Hello ,

I have no programming knowledge or no programming experience . Where to start ?

My aim is to built video games and apps for Android and iphone/ipad . Where to start . i just started java cours from codeademy and im getting little know how to the java commands

I,m in Java Compiling section right now using the free tool . but im thinking to get the pro version .
Am i on the right path ?

Thank you

Hey there!

Programming can be tough to pick up initially as there’s a lot of jargon and terms you pick up as you do more languages. Java can also be a tricky language to start on, as it is a strongly typed language that heavily relies on classes. Classes are a big part of programming, however in many other languages they’re one of the last things to be learned of the basics since there’s other bigger foundational things to pick up first to understand classes.

I would recommend leaving the Java course for now, and starting with Learn How To Code. This is a course that doesn’t focus on any language and takes coding back to it’s very basics, introducing you to things like data types, loops, functions etc without having to worry about specific language syntax. It can be a good primer to get started.

If you have Pro I would also highly recommend the Learn Python 3 course. Whilst Python isn’t too useful directly for building apps for mobile devices, it is a very simple language, and is designed to read more like a sentence than other languages will. It’s a perfect starter language for learning the basics of functions, classes, loops, and everything you’d need to build a game.