Newbie needing assistance

Hello community, I am a newbie here learning world development. However, for my first exercise, I was told to complete this following task.
After your declaration, add opening () and closing () tags.
For anyone is has already gone through this path before, I am sure that you are aware that these exercises come in numbers.
The number two of this exercise already required that I should insert in . While number 2 is requesting that I " add opening () and closing () tags." after I ave made the html declaration.
However, my question is I'm I supposed to "add opening () and closing () tags" beneath the html declaration, or right beside it?

Your help will be appreciated.

In technical speak. the terms used are,

OPENTAG

and,

ENDTAG

From its inception, Standard General Markup Language has used the left carat and right carat as container characters for element selectors, which were early on nicknamed, tags.

Fast forward, HTML elements are representations of page content according to how it is structured. Typical page content will include headings, paragraphs, lists and images. Early on it was discovered that these elements are difficult to work with on their own, and thus it was determined that container elements were needed. We have divisions and list containers to carry on that role.

Most beginner courses will start with the following on the blackboard:

<html>
<p>Hello World</p>
</html>

A browser will render this to the screen in the default typeface and character size. Unseen are all the built in default presentation rules, called style sheets that play a role in the background.

There is a lot of information behind the simple markup above, not the least of which is the discussion of tags and elements. There is a difference, but the two terms are married and joined at the hip, just not synonymous.

<p>   =>  OPENTAG declaring a paragraph TYPE element
</p>  =>  ENDTAG declaring point to stop rendering this element TYPE