New to programming, struggling to pick which course to do

Hi! I’m new to codecademy and I want to make the most of it, but I need a little advice from more experienced people.
I’ll keep it short, I have a masters in psychology but I really hate working in that environment, so I’ve decided to work towards becoming a software developer. It is something that I was always interested in and yes, I was a 14 year old writing edgy myspace code, so I’m at a beginner level. I’ve completed the JS and HTML intro just to make sure I liked the site before committing.
I’m at the point now where I want to either begin the front stack course or the full stack, but I’m not sure which. Realistically, trying to balance this with a full-time job and an upcoming surgery is difficult so I want to pick something that I will enjoy and give me the most opportunities, as I hope if I work hard I will be ready for a career change next year. I really like HTML and designing websites and making them look nice, so I think I have a preference for front stack, but I haven’t got any experience in the back path.
I’m just a bit confused and was hoping for insight!
It’s a massive change so any help or if anyone can shed their own experience I would truly appreciate it. I am itching to learn more and make a positive career change in 2022, I’ve seen a lot of people say in under a year they were able to land a full-time and fulfilling job so I figured that it could be me as well.
Thanks!:slight_smile:

Okay, b/c you mentioned MySpace you get bonus points. :joy: Also, hooray for the social sciences! (my background is sociology).

I know you want a specific answer, but, things like this are so subjective. I will also point you to search our forums for what others have posted about this very same topic…and wondering what to do next. Essentially, you’re not alone in your indecision. :slight_smile: