New small company website for a beginner in just a few months?

I have a dilemma, I have decided to start my coding journey a couple of weeks ago. I started on SQL and now am doing HTML beginners level. I am also doing the Full Stack Engineer career path. I made the mistake of telling a friend of my plans and now he has commissioned me with building his wifes website from scratch😧. She runs a small dog training company and wants a basic few pages up an running in January and then a booking and payment facility online by March.
I was going to turn him down as I am a complete beginner and I don’t have much confidence at this stage. However I guess this could be a great way to learn and have some time pressure wouldn’t be a bad thing.
Anyone with some thoughts about this and any advice?

Most of these features sound like they could be managed by a CMS. CMS is a lot more plug and play are requires less technical know-how. Writing a website from scratch is quite complex.

This also makes a lot easier for your wifes friend to manage the website. And it saves you a massive amount of code you have to write

Being able to decide on the right technology stack is tricky.

4 Likes

Even if you’re a complete beginner, I think this could be a good opportunity to learn as you go, gain experience working with a client & start to build your portfolio. Confidence will come as you spend time on projects like what you described.

Similar to what @stetim94 mentioned, WordPress, a popular Content Management System (CMS), might be the way to go. Knowing some HTML & CSS can be helpful in customizing a WordPress site, but I’ve come across this free Udemy course which teaches WordPress without coding: “How to Make a WordPress Website (Drag & Drop Builder)”. I myself haven’t taken this course, but it looks like it’s gotten some good reviews. Alternatively, you can look into using a free website builder, like Wix.