New and overwhelmed - how do people proceed?

Hi community,

I’m totally new to coding and chose “Introduction to JS” because it is free and JS looks “readable”.

I like the course very much, but at 75% I’m already lost because I type in random things, not knowing if this syntax really works etc…

Question: How did you proceed, or what would your advice be?
Start with something else such as HTML?
Repeat the Introduction to JS until things become clearer?

I can’t tell if I’m really lacking talent.
I have not taken notes (bad at taking notes manually due to disability) - would you recommend I copy the course lessons / instructions to a text editor to be able to look things up??

Any advice very welcome!
Thanks a lot.
Tim

1 Like

HTML isn’t a programming language, I don’t think that would be helpful for anything other than learning how to actually type things out correctly but there’s no advantage to learning that with html.
JS is perfectly fine. It has a couple pitfalls where it acts rather strangely where other languages would be much more strict and simply disallow some things that don’t make sense. In the grand scheme of things it doesn’t matter, js is fine.

I’d say focus on what the basic operations and data types can do for you. Most of the rest is built out of that, make sure to know them well. (Arrays, functions, hashmaps (objects), numbers, strings, loops, conditions)

I’ve never relied on memorization, it’s all about reasoning for me. For the particular details one can always google it. When it comes to JS you’ll probably want to add MDN to your search query because that site has documentation so good it’s almost reason by itself to learn JS. You might for example know what an array does, and that might be what you need, and you might then look up MDN’s page on arrays to figure out how to write that.