Need Some Guidance

Hello Everyone !,

Newbie here who recently started learning how to code. I am currently a plumber and want to make a career change into this field due to wanting to work from home and stop physically hurting myself on the job. I have started 2 months so far attempting to learn Python and about a 3 weeks since I had come across Codecademy and picking up their courses. Recently I have been feeling burnt out and feel like giving up. I have reached the Loops segment and having difficulty with it and just feel like the progress I have made before is just wasting away. For those who are self taught (no knowledge whatsoever in coding) approximately how long did it take for you to learn a language or atleast become proficient in it? i would like to hear some journeys and how long did it take to attain a job

2 Likes

Hi Chip,

I am new to the coding world like yourself, and I feel as though another beginner’s perspective could help.

I constantly feel like I’m not learning as fast as I should, or that I’m not skilled enough to learn what I’m trying to learn. I get burnt out–and quickly. But those feelings and thoughts of self-doubt are only coming from a place of frustration. Like you, I want a career change (and now, ha)–but I also need to be gentle and honest with myself. Learning to code is hard work, and while I would love to be able to learn it all overnight, I know it isn’t possible. It’s going to take time. So, when I feel like my frustration is building from something I don’t understand, or a project I can’t seem to figure out–I step away. I take a breath, I do something I enjoy, and when I feel like I can tackle the challenge again, I come back renewed and refreshed.

Preserve, set goals, and remember to be gentle with yourself. There’s an entire community on the same journey as you, and we’ll all succeed together!

3 Likes

Hi Chip,