Need Help!

EOF While Scanning Tripple-Quoted String Literal
I am tring to write a program which can help me to fid dthe distance of two points
and so far my detail is as follow:
Bx=input(“enterBasexnumber”)
print(Bx)
By=input(“enterBaseynumber”)
print(By)
Lx=input(“enterLocationxnumber”)
print(Lx)
Ly=input(“enterLocationynumber”)
print(Ly)

Xquare=(Lx-Bx)**2
Ysquare=(Ly-By)**2
import math
print"math.sqrt(Xquare+Ysquare):"

and the error appears at the bottom line, but to my knowledge I don’t need the riple quotes anywhere!
plus I am totally new to this python and all the programing thing so please help!

A few things to point out. First, whenever you post code you should format it as code. This is especially helpful with Python since indentation is extremely important. To format code, my preferred method is to type 3 back tics, skip a line, type 3 more back tics then paste your code on the line between them:

```
Paste code here
```

Second, the syntax of your print statement at the end is incorrect. You aren’t printing any text. You’re printing the result of the math.sqrt() function, so no quotation marks. Also whatever you want printed needs to be included inside of parenthesis as the print() function’s parameter like so:

print (math.sqrt(Xquare+Ysquare))

One last thing, user input will always be of data type string. You can’t perform any mathematical calculations with strings. They have to be converted to numbers of some type. Integers would probably suffice for your code, or you could use floats. You can accomplish this with either the int() or float() function.
Hope this helps! Good luck && happy coding!

2 Likes

Dear Tod Thank you so much for your reply, I was wondering is anyone gonna say anything to my post, according to your statements I’ve made the change as below but the error still exist at the bottom line below is the program so far if you would kindly help
me to understand what sill goes wrong?

Bx=int(input("enterBasexnumber"))

print(Bx)