Need advice - on a roadblock (Web Dev path)

Hey there,

It’s my first post here talking about myself. (Man this really became too long of a post. Whoever, reads it, I am buying a beer). I will talk about my experience in doing the Web Development Path. I think it could potentially open up to other people who are also struggling.

Let me say something about my background.

I am a seasoned IT pro. Doing pretty good on the server side, i.e Windows Server, IIS intermediate, Azure Cloud and so on. I’ve always had some fascination for the web technologies and over the years I’ve plunged myself into html, some css and different CMSes, just as a hobby, entertainment. Creating like video games fansites (purely informational, no logic). So as a new year’s resolution I decided to pair my strong IT skills with actual coding skills.

What’s the dream?

Not to work or get a job as a developer but get good enough to … do fun stuff in my spare time. I am a gamer (as much as I can considering family + job). I am a big Diablo fan. Season World of Warcraft player. So the dream is - to create my own browser MMO game. Heavily inspired by Gladiatus, which is an old and dying MMO browser game, which is turn based and is really good.

So 2020 new year’s resolution kicked in and I signed up for Codecademy Pro. When i looked at the Web Development path - Oh boy. Exactly what I wanted. Started with html and CSS. It was really fun because I had some previous experience with html and css so the courses were tremendous fun. Refreshing old knowledge + gaining a ton of new knowledge. I even started rebuilding my old Diablo 2 fansite which I built with WYSISWYG editor back in 2009. Started rebuilding it from scratch with modern knowledge and modern semantics I learn from the course.

Just look at the difference -

2009 - https://www.diablo-2.net/old/
2019/2020 - https://www.diablo-2.net