MY OWN ATTEMPT :D [LEARN JAVA DNA Sequencing]

Hi, I’m new to Codecademy and just new to programming in general. I have never posted on a forum like this before either!

I’m completely noob at this. But… I’m thoroughly enjoying my self taught journey to becoming, hopefully one day, a fully fledged Software Developer. I wanted to share my embarrassing attempt for the DNA Sequencing, String Methods, Java exercise. Now, I know this attempt is pathetic and the code is so repetitive and completely not the correct way to do it. But… I was so proud the fact that I managed to do it completely without looking at the guide… from scratch.

Check out my attempt below and please do have a laugh :slight_smile: Im also to looking to make some new friends on this, perhaps those who are similar to me in experience and we can learn together? Do hit me up!

Also: any feedback, advises, recommendations would be welcomed !

public class DNA {

public static boolean first3(String dNa) {
    dNa.equals("ATG");
    return true;
  }

public static boolean last3(String dNa) {
    dNa.equals("TGA");
    return true;
  }

public static boolean checkSize(String dNa) {
	  int size = dNa.length();
	  if (size % 3 == 0) {
		  return true;
	  } else {
		 return false;	  
	  }  
  }

public static void main(String[] args) {

String sample1 = "ATGCGATACGCTTGA";
    String sample2 = "ATGCGATACGTGA";
    String sample3 = "ATGCGATACGTGA";

boolean condition1 = first3(sample1);
    boolean condition2 = last3(sample1);
    boolean condition3 = checkSize(sample1);

if (condition1 && condition2 && condition3) {
    	System.out.println(sample1 + " is a protien");
    } else {
    	System.out.println(sample1 + " is not a protien");
    }

boolean condition4 = first3(sample2);
    boolean condition5 = last3(sample2);
    boolean condition6 = checkSize(sample2);

if (condition4 && condition5 && condition6) {
    	System.out.println(sample2 + " is a protien");
    } else {