Mixed Messages: Surf Prediction

Hi everyone,
I created a message generator that tells you how your surf session will be today. :wink:
This is my first project trying putting HTML, CSS and Java together.
It took me 3 days, maybe a total of 10h.
I also tried using Git for the first time.
What I don’t quite understand is the connection between my local repository and the one on Github. After I finished the files on my computer, I created a new repository on Github and then pushed my local repository to Github from the command line. But what if I then need to do some more changes? Would I do the changes on my local repository and then somehow update from there the Github repository? How can I do that?
I hope my question makes sense and someone can help me with this.

I would also greatly appreciate any feedback to my files.

Here is the repo: GitHub - JuliaNena/Message-Generator

And here is the site: Go Surf!

Thank you,
Julia

Hi Julia,

If you pushed your repository to Github from your terminal then the connection should be established. All you have to do to update it when you make changes is this:

1. git add . - This adds all the files to the staging area. If you want to just add one file it’s: git add filename.

2. git commit -m “” - This is you commiting/saving the changes to your local repository. In-between the quotes you’ll want to add a short descriptive message of the changes you’ve made.

3. git push - This is you updating the repository in Github.

All there is to it!

By the way, I had a look at your script file and nice work! I like that you added a frontend to it, rather than having the output just be in the terminal. I might implement something like that too.

1 Like

I really enjoyed that you expanded the project by actually building a one-page app that generates the message on the click of a button.