Mixed Messages Generator

This is my first attempt to this project. It is really fun, especially looking up quotes that I likes.

Please take a look, and let me know what you think :slight_smile:

Hello,

Iā€™m fairly new to coding so maybe Iā€™m way off base but I think you have an error in the way you wrote your ā€˜messagesā€™ array. You have an array of arrays which could work but the rest of your code doesnā€™t work properly with that format. I think you need to break up your inspirational quotes and save them individually to variables. Then you can add all the variables to an array and use your code properly. Hope Iā€™m not wrong and if not I hope what I said helps, keep coding! :slight_smile:

-Logan Thomas

Welcome, @mphbo. Oneā€™s first response to the above is, ā€˜What?ā€™ That would be a less than suitable way to work with data. Thatā€™s why we have data structures that support key-value pairs. The keys are the variables, only now they are called, ā€˜variableNames.ā€™

An array is also very useful alternative for housing small but similar objects.

platonic_solids = [
      {
        shape: 'tetrahedron',
        sides: 4,
        face: 'triangle'
      },
      {
        shape: 'cube',
        sides: 6,
        face: 'square'
      },
      {
        shape: 'octahedron',
        sides: 8,
      },
      {
        shape: 'dodecahedron',
        sides: 12,
        face: 'pentagon'
      },
      {
        shape: 'icosahedron',
        sides: 20,
      }
    ]
console.log(
  platonic_solids[platonic_solids.find(x => x.sides === 12)]
)
// { shape: 'dodecahedron', sides: 12, face: 'pentagon'  }

I totally understand what you mean. But with the way the code in the github repository is, it doesnā€™t allow for arrays within arrays. The entire array will be returned or logged, which I donā€™t believe is intended?

After looking at the code one sees what you mean. There is no discernment within the array. However it can be solved without extra variables.