Minwsweeper task 3

pro

Howdy guys,

Has anyone got through this minesweeper JS task…I’m about to throw my laptop through the window…

https://www.codecademy.com/courses/minesweeper/projects/dynamic-board-generation?program_content_id=0dc66fcb1f02d7352f82fdfb1295fa87&program_id=fc1cc76cbdee0831fda0677e3fd75ae6

Im just up to step 3 and im getting undefined in my terminal. I cant see what Im doing wrong but then im pretty new to this. If anyone has any wisdom to share it would be muy apreciado! My code below…

const generatePlayerBoard= (numberOfRows, numberOfColumns) => {
  let board= [] ;
  for (let numberOfRowsIndex = 0; numberOfRowsIndex < numberOfRows.length; numberOfRowsIndex++){
    let row= [' ']; { 
    for (let numberOfColumnsIndex = 0; numberOfColumnsIndex < numberOfColumns.length; numberOfColumnsIndex++)`Preformatted text`{
    return  row.push(' ');
  } return  board.push(row);
  }  return board;
 }
};

console.log(generatePlayerBoard(2, 2));

Hi @jamesmacleod1990,

Since I have no access to the pro courses, I would take a wild guess based on your code. Please note that I have no access to all the instructions, my suggestion could be very different from what the lesson asked.

Does the instruction asked to create a A x B columns & rows table for the Board based on the input for numberOfRows and numberOfColumns?

Such as printing the board: ( 2 rows, 2 columns)
[ [ ' ', ' ' ], [ ' ', ' ' ] ]

If yes, I might be able to help point out which part of your code leads to not printing the 2x2.

Firstly, I think this part is correct :white_check_mark:

let board= [] ;

Currently the board is an empty array.
Next…

for (let numberOfRowsIndex = 0; numberOfRowsIndex < numberOfRows.length; numberOfRowsIndex++){

I think you’d need to check this part: numberOfRows.length

Based on end of your code, you have passed 2 as the argument,

generatePlayerBoard(2, 2)

replacing numberOfRows in

generatePlayerBoard= (numberOfRows, numberOfColumns) => {