Medical Insurance Project

Hello, I’m new to Codecademy and I’m struggling with the project on Medical Insurance Cost for the lesson on Python functions.

Here is my code:

Create calculate_insurance_cost() function below:

def calculate_insurance_cost(age, sex, bmi, num_of_children, smoker, name):
estimated_cost = 250age - 128sex + 370bmi + 425num_of_children + 24000*smoker - 12500
output = print(“The estimated insurance cost for " + name + " is " + str(estimated_cost) + " dollars”)
return output, estimated_cost

Estimate Maria’s insurance cost

maria_insurance_cost = calculate_insurance_cost(28, 0, 26.2, 3, 0, “Maria”)

Estimate Omar’s insurance cost

omar_insurance_cost = calculate_insurance_cost(35, 1, 22.2, 0, 1, “Omar”)

Estimate John’s insurance cost

john_insurance_cost = calculate_insurance_cost(28, 1, 28, 0, 0, “John”)

Estimate differences in insurance cost between Maria and Omar

def calculate_insurance_cost_1(age, sex, bmi, num_of_children, smoker):
estimated_cost = 250age - 128sex + 370bmi + 425num_of_children + 24000*smoker - 12500

maria_insurance_cost_1 = calculate_insurance_cost_1(28, 0, 26.2, 3, 0)

omar_insurance_cost_1 = calculate_insurance_cost_1(35, 1, 22.2, 0, 1)

def different_insurance_cost(maria_cost, omar_cost):
diff_insurance_cost = maria_insurance_cost_1 - omar_insurance_cost_1
print(“The difference in insurance cost is " + diff_insurance_cost + " dollars.”)

different_insurance_cost(maria_insurance_cost_1, omar_insurance_cost_1)

It’s giving the following error but I’m not sure why: TypeError: unsupported operand type(s) for -: ‘NoneType’ and ‘NoneType’. Could anyone help on this? thank you! :slight_smile: