Medical Insurance portfolio project - any feedback welcome / particularly on using dictionaries

Hi, Everyone -

My name is Eric and I’m a new student with Codecademy’s Data Science career path. I want to share my Medical Insurance portfolio project for feedback. Mostly I was able to do what I wanted with the functions, and I feel like I’ve learned a lot already.

One sticking point: I was hoping to figure out a way to use a for loop and iterate through the dictionary, pulling the averages of each set of values and using the key name in a printed output sentence. I was only able to get one of my age categories to print properly. If anyone has any comments on how to improve my code, I will be thankful!

Here is a link to my project on Github: GitHub - eric-mosher/us_insurance_codecademy: Project for Codecademy Data Science course

Thanks,
Eric

Can we be sure the data does not include field names?

ins_dict = csv.DictReader(insurance_dict)

It would make sense to use them as keys, if they exist, as opposed to making our own arbitrary keys.

Hi – the field names in the csv are age, sex, bmi, etc. But I wanted to partition the data in terms of four age groups – 50-65, 40-50, 25-40, under 25 – and then analyze the avg cost for each age group. That’s why I made the new keys.

There is probably a more elegant way to simply use the data in the original dictionary without creating a new dictionary…

Eric

Oh, that makes sense.

In [25]

return print("The average insurance cost for individuals aged " + key + " is " + str(avg))

The return is interfering with the loop.

Thanks - I took out return and indented the print statement so it’s inside the for loop – and now it works! I will keep playing around with functions and classes with this data set for some more practice.

Eric

1 Like

You’re welcome. Please post a link to this exercise so a person might try a hand at it. Thanks.