Margin in the box model

Question

Why is margin part of the box model if it is outside of the box?

Answer

It is mainly part of it for two reasons, the first one is the easiest to take in:
the world wide web consortium (W3C), which is an international community in charge to develop and set the standards for best web programming practices, have decided that the most efficient way to manipulate elements is using the box model as we know it, where --and this is the second reason – margin is a property set on the element and it directly affects it in relation to what surrounds it.

11 Likes

I am a newbie to the whole topic, so I probably got this wrong, but could you also say that “margins” are part of the box model because they define the space between the various boxes and so define the way we can position boxes on the page? That is, they tell the browser if another box can go to the left (right, the top or bottom) of the box for which margin is defined and what shape these boxes need to be to fit there.

Or did I get that wrong?

(And sorry for the verbosity: looks like I definitely need to work on that, considering I am learning to code and program to better my chances of becoming a technical writer…;))

11 Likes

Consider the difference between these two terms:

box model
content box

The original spec did not include any of the additional working tools that came with CSS3 so the box model was very literal.

margin -> border -> padding -> content

The content box included everything but margin for the purpose of calculating vertical and horizontal size. Things are different these days now that we have box-sizing.

20 Likes

Thanks for the history lesson: it clarified matters further and showed that I grasped the right concept. Still, I made a mess of phrasing it, which illustrates my newbie uncertaintly.

8 Likes