Making the leap to C++

c

After dabbling in a free course on Data Structures I’ve hit the C++ wall, which the course assumes one is comfortable with. It’s let us use Python up to a point, but now it is immersing in C++. To play along with this I’ve decided to cross that bridge into C, a language I’ve never really felt myself up to the task. Java is in that group, as well. Apart from the course here, I have zero Java background.

It’s nice to know that JS, PHP, Python and Ruby are closely connected to C++ (and Java), but not knowing C is something I can no longer avoid. It’s time to face it, and be glad that I know what I know going in. I can understand the discussions, if nothing more.

>>> harry = int()
>>> lloyd = int()
>>> dumb_and_dumber = bool(harry + lloyd)
>>> dumb_and_dumber
False

I got this by porting the C example to Python.

int harry;
int lloyd;
bool dumbAndDumber = (harry + lloyd)

Totally not possible in Java, but C++ (and obviously, Python) take it all in stride.

Anyway, long and short of this is what to install on my Windows 7 Professional 64-bit system so I can play along and get more hands on experience? Anybody got a reliable suggestion of code source, docs, etc. to guide me into the fire?

Visual studio is a common choice for windows development of c/c++
MSDN C++ for visual studios
These two sties have some solid documentation
Reference #1
Reference #2

Since you have a background in programming and are wanting to jump into C++ I suggest exploring the STL and pointers right away. Getting used to pointers and stream operators might take some time.

You’re gonna have fun overloading operators and managing memory!

Got it. Installed C++ and Python (but not .net, azure, etc.) Gonna take awhile to read and familiarize. Got Python up and running but not C. Should have done this years ago when I was a faster learner.