Codecademy Forums

Machine Learning Capstone Project: OKCupid

Here’s a link to the Github Repo: https://github.com/SpringboLives/CC_SupervisedML_Capstone

Pasting my “Reporting.md” file below. I’m curious if anyone’s had any success in creating a different code for education? I’ve tried two different structures (laid out in the feature_selection.py files) but this is my first attempt and I’d love to hear other ideas. Okay, begin my Reporting file!!

Project Description

Using a dataset of user information provided by OKCupid and Codecademy, formulate questions about the data that can be explored using machine learning classification and regression algorithms. Generate new columns within the dataset as needed to test your questions.

Methods and Python modules used

• Python Modules
    • Pandas - for viewing and manipulating data (creating new columns, sorting, etc.)
    • matplotlib - for plotting and visualizing results
    • sklearn - for accessing classification and regression modules
  • Classification Algorithms
    • Decision Tree
    • Random Forest
    • K Nearest Neighbor
  • Regression Algorithms
    • Linear Regression
    • Multi Linear Regression

Data Exploration

• Navigate to Visualizations > explorations.png for my charts
    • Age is right skewed
    • Sex is made up of 59.77% male and 40.23% female
    • Income features an inverted bell, but 48442 (80.81%) users reported income as -1 (this might be OKCupid’s way of showing a NaN)

Questions Asked

1. Can body type be predicted with different types of classification algorithms by looking
    at diet, drinking, drug use, education, and income level?

2. Is education level an accurate way of predicting income?

I arrived at these questions after exploring the different features that existed in the dataset
and asked questions to myself about what I might be able to glean from the features.

New Columns Created

• Education