Loops assignment (max_num)

The assignment seems simple enough:

"Create a function named max_num() that takes a list of numbers named nums as a parameter.

The function should return the largest number in nums"

But something in the code I’ve written keeps returning 50 which is the first item in the list. It makes me think that something I’m doing creates a loop that doesn’t actually loop. It’s only looking at the first item in the list and then stopping.
Can someone please explain to me, in really simple terms (I’m new to coding and get lost in the lingo), why this code isn’t working?

I really appreciate the help. I keep having similar problems with my loops and haven’t been able to figure out what I’m doing wrong despite checking other forum post and just simply having the answer shown to me.
Please, I really need this explained like you are talking to someone with absolutely no coding experience, because that’s exactly who you’re dealing with.

Hey there,

def max_num(nums):
  largest = 0
  for x in nums:
    if x > largest:
      largest = x
    else:
      return largest  

So your code reads:

- set `largest` to 0
- for every element in the nums list:
  1. if that element is larger than `largest`, 
     set `largest` to that element
  2. otherwise (if the element is equal or smaller than `largest`), 
     return `largest` 
     (this will break the loop and the function at this point)

So that’s why any 2nd number that’s not bigger than 50 is going to end with the function returning 50.

Your list is [50, -10, 0, 75, 20], if the list were [20, -10, 0, 75, 50] it would return 20.

To be clear, the for-loop normally goes through every element unless you tell it to break (hence, why it’s stopping after the second element). This can be done with a break statement but a return statement is even more powerful and it will end the function altogether.

1 Like

@toastedpitabread to the rescue again.