Loop Intuition

Hello! I am just learning loops in python, but I am having a hard time building an intuition for (1) when to use which type of loop (i.e for vs while loops), (2) when to consider nesting loops, and (3) when using a loop might be more appropriate than just an if statement.
For instance, I initially thought to use an if statement to generate a function that would return a given list with the even elements removed:

However, the solution used a while loop:

!

I am unclear about the logic behind the reason for using a while loop over an if statement…would anyone explain and possibly suggest some tips for developing an intuition for knowing when to use loops, what types, and when to nest them? Thanks!

The type of loop, hmmm, that is the question. At first it is tricky to decide. What do we want from the loop? What objects are in play? Are we iterating an object or performing an action within a conditional environment?

1 Like

In the examples you provided there are different outcomes.
With the IF statement version you ONLY check the first element to see if it is even or odd.
With the WHILE loop you check the first element of the lst-variable continuously and remove all elements that are even from the beginning of the list.
Consider this scenario:
lst = [2,2,4,5,2]
with the IF version you return [2,4,5,2] #(only first even element removed)
but with the WHILE version you return [5,2] #(3 even elements removed)

This is also a good illustration of a use-case for a while loop instead of a for loop, because you do not know upfront when the loop could be terminated on a for loop.
You could do:

for i in range(len(lst)):
  if lst[i] % 2 != 0: # if we find an uneven number
    return lst[i:] # break the loop (and function) by returning the correct result
return [] # if the lst only contains even numbers, we return an empty list