Looking for advice!

Hi all,

I’m 22, looking into a computer programming diploma from a college near me in Canada. I am unable to attend in person – I need to keep working and I live 4 hours away from the college, but they offer the diploma program online. It’s self-taught, which is fine; I’ve been working through an accounting certificate through a different college online and have self-taught myself just fine so far. What I’m concerned about is the missed opportunity for a co-op program.

So my question is this:

If I begin to use this site to get ahead before I start the diploma program (likely next year), do you think that I could build a worth-while portfolio to aid me in getting a job in the future? I’m worried that I’ll finish the schooling program with little but a diploma to show for it, and a lot of jobs require something… more. I hope to use this site to build up some projects, and use my schooling to build up my resume a bit.

I’m sorry if this is a silly question or if it doesn’t make any sense. I’m a very anxious person and I’ve been having a bit of a crisis trying to find a fit for me. Coding and programming has always interested me and when I tried it a few years ago, I loved it. Any advice, big or small would be greatly appreciated.

If you got this far, thank you for reading!

Don’t apologize. It’s not a silly question. :slight_smile:

I would think that the CS diploma program would have students work on projects to contribute to their portfolios (but, I could be wrong). I will say this–before you give anyone a huge chunk of money, do your research on those programs. There are sites that rate schools and/or online programs. (Course Report being one of them. YouTube also has reviews of programs). The reviews are written by verified students. Or, just google reviews for those diploma programs.