Libraries: trust them, to what extent?

Hi all!

I am diving into the Data Science Career path and am thinking about all the cool libraries there are in Python for me to use. Since I am a newbie with libraries, I may be inclined to trust the robustness and capabilities of libraries more readily than others.

However, when dealing with data, especially sensitive data (credit information, medical records, etc.), how can I know if a library I download and run won’t do something malicious like steal my data, take my computer hostage, etc? I know that many people use ‘popular’ libraries, but I don’t want to just follow the herd blindly.

How do I cross examine the safety and suitability of a particular library?

Thanks!

Hi there, welcome to the forums!

Quite a few of the popular projects for data analysis are open source so you can freely access and review the source code.

The prevailing consensus with projects which are open source is that “more eyes” - more people with access to the source code - makes it harder for anyone to introduce harmful or malicious code to the project in comparison to a closed source project.

Ultimately, though, unless you’re willing to review every line of code yourself the system boils down to trust and whether you’re comfortable trusting the project maintainers, contributors and the ecosystem in general not to pull a fast one and do something dodgy.

If the library is open source - Pandas being an example of one such project - then you can freely review the source to satisfy yourself that there’s nothing untoward going on. (For absolute clarity, I’m not suggesting there’s anything untoward in Pandas!)

Otherwise, it’s a calculated decision; if a high number of people are using it with no reported issues or incidents, do you take that as a sign it’s safe?

Thanks @thepitycoder! This was a wonderful explanation!

I will stick with the well known libraries and read others’ opinions on them. :slight_smile:

1 Like