Let's talk about that "Save" button

Hey guys,

I’m an interactive / UX designer, and i came here to brush up on my coding skills so i can make better interfaces. Recently i noticed you’ve made a callout that dramatically pulls my attention to the “Save” button. At few days ago the implementation had the save button sliding in an out, and things that move or animate to draw your attention on a static screen has a very dramatic effect.

Thankfully you fixed that, as it was basically ruining my ability to concentrate on figuring out how get through some of the challenges.

However, the animation has now been replaced with a constant pulsing. This is also bad.
I think the nature of your site requires a user to concentrate on what they are doing, so I think minimizing distractions on the screen is very important, especially for noobs like me. I already have to completely isolate myself from all stimuli in order to concentrate on learning, so constantly pulling my attention away from that is a bit frustrating.

I’ve literally taped a sticky note over my monitor to help tune it out.

So… how do you do this right?

I assume there is an issue with people not saving their work, losing progress, and getting frustrated. I assume you are doing some sort of tracking either via metrics or surveys to uncover this issue. My first question would be, is the evidence to make this change anecdotal? Or do you have definitive proof that it needs to be addressed. Are you tracking a metric and doing AB testing to see if you are actually improving behavior?

I’m willing to bet people use the save button more, but might suddenly be spending less time on site, or come back less.

Assuming you have quantitative data that indicates you need to call out the save button, here are some other ways to do it: