Lesson 1.6: what is the "FROM flights f" syntax?

Here's the sample code, which "assuming flight_id increments with each additional flight, we could use the following query to start to view a sample of carriers, flight ids, and sequence numbers":

SELECT carrier, id,
(SELECT COUNT(*)
FROM flights f
WHERE f.id < flights.id
AND f.carrier=flights.carrier) + 1
AS flight_sequence_number
FROM flights;

What is the "f" referencing? There are no tables or columns in the section with that name. Is it referencing the data in the row that's being passed to the subquery? If so, how? Does that FROM "know" it's part of a subquery and consequently allow a second argument?

Don't be afraid to talk about pointers and objects stuff ,if that would help. I have plenty of experience, just not with anything like SQL. Thanks in advance!

@sarkreth,

You could write the SELECT like
`
SELECT carrier, id,
(SELECT COUNT(*)
FROM flights AS f <<===you can now refer to =flights=-TABLE by using =f=
WHERE f.id < flights.id
AND f.carrier=flights.carrier) + 1
AS flight_sequence_number
FROM flights;

Hi
I am a bit confused with this exercise, too. Thanks for letting me know there is a hidden 'AS' there which is an alias of flights. I guessed 'f' is a table as we are using f.id, f.carrier etc. but did not know f is acting like an alias. So, thanks again.

However, I did not understand the logic used there: (f.id< flights.id AND f.origin = flights.origin)+1, how it's counting?

I second this follow-up. The WHERE conditions make no sense now.

I experimented a bit with the SQL editor on this site: http://www.w3schools.com/sql/trysql.asp?filename=trysql_select_all and I think I know what's going on. So you can try it yourself, I'll copy the code I used there, which does the same thing with different names. The "ORDER BY Country" is added just so the output looks a little nicer.

SELECT Country, CustomerID,
  (SELECT COUNT(*)
    FROM Customers CustomersInner