Jupyter notebook not installing

Hi there,

I am doing the “analyzing financial data with Python” course and I am trying to install jupyter notebook.

I have windows, python 3.9, git bash and pip. I type “$ pip install jupyter” in git bash and it seems to download (there are a lot of white lines appearing). But then when I type “$ jupyter notebook” it says “bash: jupyter: command not found”.

Can someone please help with this. I have looked on google, youtube, forums etc and I can’t find an answer. I am very new to programming to so my knowledge is very limited.

How do I install jupyter notebook and how can I start using it?

It seems odd that you can run a site-package like pip but not jupyter. This is a bit of a guess but it sounds like you may potentially have a messy PATH with more than one version of python included or something a little odd (pip is not installing where you expect).

You can treat PATH a bit like a python import statement of the form from bin import *; from usr/bin import * etc. etc. but if you have name collisions or the references are wrong then things can behave very unexpectedly.

If the PATH is confused then unfortunately it’d be up to you to fix it as it’d be somewhat unique to you and your device. A bit of time looking into is worthwhile as Python’s packages are rather confusing anyway if you know nothing about the command line.

For a bit of digging-
You should be able to see where packges are installed with-
pip --verbose list

Does Python itself run? python -V
Is there a difference between the output of pip -v list and python -m pip -v list?

I can’t recall what commands gitbash has on the fly but something like-
which --all pip
might help as it finds all executables on the PATH (where, whereis and various similar tools exist but they may not be included).

1 Like

Hi @tgrtim, thanks for your quick reply.